President Ramkalawan receives delegation of UN Country Representatives at State House

20 May 2022 | Foreign Affairs

President Wavel Ramkalawan welcomed members of the United Nations (UN) Country Team for a courtesy call at State House yesterday morning. The UN Heads of the various agencies are currently in Seychelles for their annual United National Country Team (UNTC) Retreat held on Wednesday at the Double Tree Allamanda, Hilton.

The objective of the retreat and high-level dialogue is essential to better understand the priorities of the country whilst also ensuring engagement vis-à-vis key opportunities and challenges for the charting of a strategic way forward with the support of the UN.

During his introductory remarks, the President welcomed the UN Heads to Seychelles and stressed the need for even greater collaboration between the UN agencies and Seychelles as it continues on the road to recovery and sustainable development.

On behalf of the people of Seychelles, President Ramkalawan conveyed the sincere appreciation of the country to the UN delegates for the continuous support received from the various UN Agencies. He further reaffirmed Seychelles’ commitment as an effective partner to the UN primarily in the realisation of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Other areas of collaboration discussed included economic transformation, sustainable tourism, human capital development, and social sectors among others, which will be beneficial for the country and its citizens.

Speaking to the press after the meeting, United Nations Resident Coordinator for Mauritius and Seychelles, H.E. Ms. Christine Umutoni expressed how honoured they were to be hosted by the President and reiterated the UN’s commitment in enhancing relations with Seychelles through the various agencies and priority sectors identified.

Members of the UNCT present for the courtesy call included the Deputy Regional Director UN Women, Ms. Zebib Kavuma, Regional Director and Representative United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) for Eastern African and Representative of Kenya, Mr. Hubert Gijzen, Acting Director and Regional Representative United Nations Development Programme (UNEP), Mr. Frank Turyatunga, Representative for Mauritius and Seychelles United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) Ms. Amanda  Serumaga, Representative for Mauritius, Seychelles, Madagascar and Comoros Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), Mr. Charles Boliko, Country Office Director for Madagascar, Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles International Labour Organisation (ILO) Mr. Coffi Agossou, Country Director for Madagascar, Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles UNAIDS, Mr. Jude Padayachy, Representative for Madagascar and Country Director for Comoros, Mauritius and Seychelles United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) Mr. Koffi Kouame, Head of Mission International Organisation for Migration (IOM), Mrs. Celine  Lemmel and Country Representative World Health Organisations (WHO) Dr. Rex  Mpanzanje.   

Also present was the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Tourism, Mr Sylvestre Radegonde, the Principal Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Amb Vivianne Focktave and other Foreign Affairs officials.


» View all