Cabinet Decisions

Amended - Cabinet Business - Wednesday 04th August 2021

05 August 2021

President Wavel Ramkalawan chaired a scheduled meeting of the Cabinet yesterday, Wednesday 4th August, at which a number of legal and policy memoranda were considered.

Cabinet approved amendments to the Seychelles Ports Authority (Stevedoring & Terminal Handling Charges) Regulations, 2008 (SI 15 of 2008).   The amendment will allow for rectifying an omission made in the regulations of 2008 in the rates for the charging of fees for stevedoring and terminal handling.  The amendment will have retrospective effect.  

Cabinet also approved to revamp the Seychelles National Commission for UNESCO. The President of the Commission is Dr Justin Valentin, the Minister for Education; the Secretary General is Mrs Vicky Gendron-Michel; the Assistant Secretary General is Ms Elaine Naiken.  The new members of the Commission are Mr. Benjamin Choppy; Dr Odile De Comarmond; Ms Cecile Kalebi; Ms Vivienne Focktave; Dr Frauke Dogley; Mr Gerard Govinden; Mr Alvin Laurence; Ms Joelle Perreau; Mr Xavier Estico; Mr Denis Matatiken; and Mr Fabien Palmyre.

Cabinet also agreed to lift the present moratorium on the allocation of industrial land subject to certain strict policy guidelines.  The Minister responsible for Investment, Entrepreneurship and Industry will make a statement on the matter in due course.

Cabinet discussed measures to be put in place during the feast of the Assumption on 15th August 2021.

Further details to the media will be provided by the relevant Ministry.


» View all