The High Commissioner of Australia to Seychelles bids farewell to President Ramkalawan at State House

21 June 2022 | Foreign Affairs

The outgoing Australian High Commissioner to Seychelles, Dr. Kate O’Shaughnessy, paid a farewell call on President Wavel Ramkalawan at State House this morning, as her tenure comes to end.

President Ramkalawan thanked High Commissioner O’Shaughnessy for her dedication and contribution to further cementing the strong ties between Seychelles and Australia. The President commended her for her efforts to initiate and build on cooperation in various sectors. He thanked the Australian government for the support extended to Seychelles in various areas of cooperation, particularly in the fight against corruption.

“I wish to extend my most heartfelt appreciation to you for your contributions to strengthening our diplomatic ties. I am confident that your successor will devote the same enthusiasm and grace to deepening the bilateral bonds our two countries have shared over years. I wish you every success upon your return to Australia,” said President Ramkalawan.

The meeting between the Head of State and High Commissioner O’Shaughnessy provided an opportunity for them to further discussed various areas of cooperation in which the two nations have worked together over the years. Furthermore, they both emphasized and reciprocate the importance for Seychelles and Australia to continue in making the voice of the islands heard on all the various international platforms on matters concerning “vulnerability” caused by climate change and other factors that the Small Island States, like Seychelles faces constantly.

On her part, High Commissioner O’Shaughnessy commended and thanked the Government of Seychelles for the principal positions that it took on many international issues. She underlined that such makes Seychelles a valuable and important partner for Australia in the international arena.

During her visit to State House, High Commissioner O’Shaughnessy also paid a farewell call on the Vice-President, Mr. Ahmed Afif.

Also present for the farewell call at State House was the Principal Secretary for Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Vivianne Fock Tave, the Director General of Bilateral Affairs Division, Department of Foreign Affairs, Ms. Lindy Ernesta, and the First Secretary at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Ms. Wendy Isnard.


» View all